I recently visited Phoenix, Arizona, and was able to visit Nourish in Scottsdale. I had, of course, checked them out thoroughly online, and perused their color-coded menu. I was really impressed by the menu – it was very easy to order food according to your food allergies, as everything is clearly labeled as to whether it is gluten-free, egg-free, dairy-free, etc. I was actually feeling pretty confident about eating there, so I didn’t call ahead as I normally would when going to a new restaurant.

Image

The valet parking was very nice, since I had to wrangle 2 children out of carseats and organize the visiting out-of-town relatives. We were there at lunchtime on a Saturday, but the restaurant wasn’t too busy.  The atmosphere was modern and bright. I was pleased to find that the staff is just as accommodating as their website advertised.   I spoke to the owner, Kirstin, and immediately found a kindred spirit, at least as far as food allergies are concerned.  She gets it, she really does, even to the point of understanding that traces of corn derivatives are still corn! The menu was extensive and creative, the food was delicious, and the prices were reasonable.  The entire experience was as awesome as a dining out experience can be when you’re dealing with a special-needs toddler and a baby.

The only negative comment I can even make is that the gluten-free, vegan muffins that we took to-go were pretty dried out and my toddler wouldn’t eat them.  But I’m more than willing to forgive them for that, since the rest of the food was so good.  Our family will definitely be returning to this restaurant.

Nourish on Urbanspoon

