It’s a little known secret in our home that while I do most of the baking, my husband makes many of the dinners in our house.  So today, I’m letting him guest post.

We had these huge chicken breasts in the fridge.  Yes, they couldn’t have come from any chicken that was grown in any way that could be termed “natural.”  But they were on sale, and that’s a plus for our family.

The problem is, they were so thick, we couldn’t just bake them, grill them, or any of our other methods.  We had just done chicken nuggets, so we needed something different.  I suggested we fillet and stuff them.  That way the flavor gets into even the thickest part of the breast.

Not even thinking about it, I suggested all the ingredients that would make for a fine allergen-friendly pesto sauce.  Stuff that chicken with it, and you’ve got a tasty meal.

So, using what we had on hand, and refusing to look at a recipe, I threw this together.  The chicken was ridiculously easy to put together, so 10 minutes of prep, about an hour of cooking time, and dinner was on the table.  Enough time in there for me and our littlest one to watch an episode of Deep Space Nine.  You may choose something different to watch, that’s not integral.

But, was it fab, or a flop?

Kinda in between, honestly.  It was really good, but I didn’t put in anything acidic, and my lovely bride picked up on that immediately.  I should have thrown in a tablespoon of lemon juice, and I’ve adjusted the recipe accordingly.  Haven’t tried it yet, but I think it should be fantastic.

Pesto Stuffed Chicken

Allergen-Friendly Stuffed Chicken Breast

There weren't a lot of leftovers for the camera!

½ cup Fresh Basil
3 Garlic Cloves – coarsely chopped
2 tbsp. Olive Oil
1.5 tsp. Salt
¼ cup Feta Cheese* (or your favorite non-dairy cheese sub)
1 tbsp. Lemon Juice
3 lbs. Chicken Breast

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Place basil, garlic, oil, salt, cheese and lemon juice in food processor and puree.

Cut each breast almost in half lengthwise.  Spoon a tablespoon of puree into the pocket of each breast.  Any remaining puree can be smeared on top of the breasts.  Place breasts into 9 x 13 casserole dish, cover and cook for 40 minutes.  Uncover and cook for an additional 10 minutes.  Internal temperature should reach 170 degrees on a meat thermometer, and juices should run clear.

