I know what you’re thinking – tortillas are not in the least related to pie crust. And you’re absolutely right. Except that I’ve discovered that my tortilla recipe works for a pie crust.

Gluten-free, vegan apple piePastry is just flour and shortening, mixed together with a little bit of water to turn it into dough. That’s pretty much the tortilla recipe I’ve been using. So, the other night I made tortillas using my usual method. My beans were semi-frozen, which kept the palm shortening cold, and the whole thing turned to pastry dough in my food processor. I was amazed. I rolled it out on some wax paper, put it in a pie plate, and baked it a little. Then I put apple pie filling in there, put another layer of pastry on top, and baked the whole thing.

For the sake of full disclosure, I did have to piece the crust together a bit, as it didn’t quite hold together well enough to move to the pie plate. Not pretty, but still tasty. After it was baked, it held together just fine.

I don’t know if it was just the cold beans, or if I used extra shortening this time, but this was much more like pastry than like tortilla. Just in time for Thanksgiving, too. Score!

gluten-free, corn-free baked pocket sandwichI’ve used the tortilla dough to make a allergy-free baked pocket sandwich before, too. Kind of on the order of a calzone. Now I’m wondering what else I can make with this basic dough. Any suggestions?

